Amritsar Municipal Corporation Election 2017 Results

Amritsar Municipal Council/Nagar Panchayat Elections Results 2017

  • Amritsar MC Polls Results: Congress 64, Sad-BJP 13, Others 8
  • Congress has won Amritsar Municipal Corporation Elections and counting is now over.
  • Congress racing ahead in Amritsar; counting still underway PunjabCivicPolls Amritsar 37/85: Congress 28, SAD+BJP 7, Independent 2
  • Congress has so far won 20 wards, BJP 4, Others 2.
  • Counting underway in several seats in Amritsar; Congress ahead in both, AAP scoring a duck so far
  • Shiromani Akali Dal has won Begowal Nagar Panchayat in Amritsar
  • Congress has won all seats in Rajasansi Nagar Panchayat in Amritsar. The party has won all 13 seats here
  • Meanwhile, in the Nagar Council/Nagar Panchayat polls in Amritsar, Congress has won 8 seats so far in Rajasansi.

Party-wise Amritsar Municipal Councils/ Nagar Panchayats Elections Results 2017

Name of DistrictName of Municipal Council/ Nagar PanchayatNo. of WardsINCSADBJP
Punjab Municipal Councils/ Nagar Panchayats Election Results 2017
Patiala Municipal Corporation Elections 2017 Results
Jalandhar Municipal Corporation Elections 2017 Results

BJP winning candidates in Amritsar MC

  • Ward 17: Sandhya Sikka
  • Ward 48: Jarnail Dhot
  • Ward 51: Gurdarshan Singh
  • Ward 74: Davinder Pehalwan
  • Ward 82: Arvind Sharma

SAD winning candidates in Amritsar MC

  • Ward 1: Nagwanrt Kaur
  • Ward 31: Bhupinder kaur Rahi
  • Ward 43: Jaskiran kaur
  • Ward 78: Sukhbir Soni
  • Ward 71: Amarjit Kaur
  • Ward 85: Surjit Singh

Amritsar MC Election 2017

The State Election Commission of Punjab has announced the date of Amritsar MC Elections 2017 on 30th Nov 2017. As per polls schedule voting would be held on 17th December in 85 wards of Amritsar and results would be announced on the same day after polling.

The polling will be held in 3200 polling stations and 4000 EVMs have been earmarked for the exercise. The voters can cast their vote between 8 AM to 4 PM. The election process will be completed by December 20. Political party of Punjab has pulled up their socks for campaigning and it is expected that the parties would announce the first list of candidates within two or three days for Amritsar Civic body elections 2017. SAD and BJP will contest Municipal Election as per Old Formula of Seat Sharing. The state election commission reserved 50% wards for woman candidates and the voters will also have the option to choose none of the above (NOTA).

413 candidates in fray for 85 Amritsar MC Wards

The last date for withdrawal of candidature was 8th Dec 2017. As per the latest report 413 candidates in fray for 85 MC wards after the withdrawal of nominations. According to the report, the Congress party contesting 85 candidates and BJP contesting on 50 Seats, the SAD is contesting on 36 seats. The AAP in contesting on 62 seats only and Apna Punjab Party will be contesting from nine wards. As many as 156 candidates are independent. Most of the wards have four to six candidates. Meanwhile, from Ward Nos. 17, 21, 24, 29, 44, 51 and 73 only two candidates are contesting. There are seven independent candidates who will be contesting from Ward No. 40

Congress Candidate List For Amritsar MC Polls 2017
Congress Candidate List For Jalandhar MC Polls 2017
SAD Candidate List For Jalandhar MC Polls 2017
BJP Candidate List 2017 for Amritsar MC Polls
Amritsar MC Elections 2012 Result

Amritsar Municipal Corporation Election 2017 Date

The State Election Commissioner of Punjab announced date of Amritsar Municipal Corporation on 30th November 2017. According to notification voting would be held on 17th Dec from 8 AM till 4 Pm and results would be declared on the same day.
Poll EventsSchedule
Date of Notification2-Dec-17
last Date of Making Nomination6-Dec-17
Date Scrutiny of Nominations7-Dec-17
Last date for withdrawal of candidature8-Dec-17
Date of Poll17-Dec-17 (8 AM till 4 PM)
Date of Counting17-Dec-17

Also Check : Punjab Congress Candidates list of Nagar Panchayats and Municipal Councils Elections 2017

About Amritsar Municipal Corporation

Amritsar Municipal Corporation (AMC) first election was held in 1991 and the city was divided into 50 wards and Sh. O.P Soni was elected as first Mayor of Amritsar on 25th June 1991 and elected corporation was dissolved on 18th June 1996. In next Municipal Elections the number of wards was increased to 60 and the elections were held on 28th May 1997 . The number of wards was increased to 65 and the election to the Fourth Amritsar Municipal House was held on 8th Aug, 2007. In Amritsar Municipal Corporation 33% seats are reserved for women candidates by rotation and some seats also reserved for scheduled casts and backward classes.

The present Municipal house was formed on 19th sept, 2012, Sh. Bakshi Ram Arora, Sh.Avtar Singh(Trucka wala), and Sh. Avinash Jolly has been elected as Mayor, Sr. Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively.

The Shiromani Akali Dal and Bharatiya Janata Party alliance swept the Municipal Corporation polls in Amritsar. The BJP+SAD allinace bagged 48 wards in the Amritsar Municipal Corporation, Congress bagged 4 and other political party was won 12 wards.

Municipal Corporation Amritsar
Commissioner Sh. Gurloveleen Singh Sidhu, I.A.S.
Current MayorSh. Bakshi Ram Arora
Deputy MayorSh. Avinash Chander Jolly
Rulling PartyBJP+SAD
Total Wards65

Amritsar MC Election 2012 Result Party Wise

PartySeats Won
Total 65
Last Updated : 17th Dec, 2017