MCD Election 2017 and Result

Latest News Updates on Delhi MCD Election 2017

  • Delhi State Election Commission (SEC) will start preparation for smooth elections for three civic bodies, As the delimitation of municipal wards will done.
  • MCD elections: Delhi govt notifies delimitation of 272 municipal wards
  • Nitish launches JD(U)’s Delhi unit; likely to contest civic polls -
  • The Yogendra Yadav-led Swaraj India will make its foray into electoral politics by contesting Delhi civic body polls scheduled for next year -
  • The State Election Commission on Wednesday told the Delhi High Court that it on September 5 notified its decision to print the candidates' photograph along with the existing particulars such as serial number, names and party symbol on EVMs for the upcoming MCD polls -

MCD Election - Delimitation of MCD Wards 2017

Delhi government notifies delimitation of 272 wards ahead of Delhi municipal polls in the national capital. As per the instruction, the Delhi municipal polls are required to be completed before April 27, 2017.

While the number of wards in each of the three corporations – 104 each in South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) and North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and 64 in East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) has remained same, the number of wards in a few assembly segments has changed, ranging from three to seven.

According to the notification issued by the Urban Development department following approval from Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal, Matiala which falls under SDMC will have 7 wards, Madipur (4), Rajouri (4), Hari Nagar (3), Tilak Nagar (3), Janakpuri (4), Vikaspuri (6), Uttam Nagar (5), Dwarka (4), Najafgarh (5), Bijwasan (5), Palam (4), Jangpura (3), Kasturba Nagar (3), Malviya Nagar (3), RK Puram (3), Mehrauli (3), Chatarpur (4), Deoli (5), Ambdekar Nagar (3), Sangam Vihar (4) and Greater Kailash (3).

Delhi MCD Election 2017 Date and Polling Schedule

The last Delhi MCD elections were held in the year 2012 in the month of April. The Indian National Congress, Bhartiya Janta Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, IND, SP etc and other independent parties were contested in Delhi Municipal Elections 2012. The MCD Election is due in 2017. According to sources, Elections to the three municipal corporations in the city are likely to be held in the third week of April and Delhi sate Election Commission will release notification for the polls is likely to be issued after the board exams are over.

Issue of Notification announced soon..
Last date for making Nominationsannounced soon..
Scrutiny of Nominationsannounced soon..
Last date for withdrawal of candidatureannounced soon..
Date of Pollannounced soon..
Date of Countingannounced soon..
Date before which election process shall be completedannounced soon..

About Municipal Corporation of Delhi

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) an autonomous body that governs 8 of the 11 Districts of Delhi, India. It is the largest municipal bodies in the world, providing civic services to more than estimated population of 11 million citizens in the capital city. Municipal elections held once a five year the term for the counselor is 5 years. In 2012, Delhi was divided into three zones: North, East, and South. here are 64 seats in East Delhi, 104 in North Delhi and 104 in South Delhi.To get majority for a party needs 137 seats out of 272.

Sitting Mayor of Municipal Corporation

Mayor's NameMunicipal Corporation
Dr. Sanjeev NayyarNorth Delhi
Mr. Shyam SharmaSouth Delhi
Ms. Satya Sharma East Delhi

MCD By-Election 2016 Results Party Wise

Bypolls or by-elections were held in 15th May 2016 in the 13 wards and result was declared on 17th May 2016.
Party Seats
Others 1

Ward wise Delhi MCD Bye Election Result 2016

Ward No.Ward NameWinner Candidates
44Quammruddin NagarAshok Bhardwaj (INC)
55Shalimar Bagh NorthBhupindar Mohan Bhandari (BJP)
67WazirpurMahandar Nagpal (AAP)
86BallimaranMohd. Sadiq (AAP)
124Vikas NagarAshok (AAP)
126NawadaKrishna Gahlot (BJP)
136MatialaRamesh (AAP)
166MunirkaYogita Rathee (INC)
168NanakpuraAnil Malik (AAP)
176BhatiRajender Singh Tanwar (IND)
199TekhandAbhishek Bidhuri (AAP)
214KhichripurAnand Kumar (INC)
238JhilmilPankaj (INC)
Also Know About...
MCD Election Date 2017
AAP Candidate list for MCD Election 2017
BJP Candidate list for MCD Election 2017
Congress Candidate list for MCD Elections 2017
North Delhi Municipal Corporation Ward List
South Delhi Municipal Corporation Ward List
East Delhi Municipal Corporation Ward List
Delhi MCD Election 2012 Results
Date Source: Delhi State Election Commission