Uttarakhand Election 2017 and Results

Search Constituency

Chief Minister :
Harish Rawat
Political Party :
Asseumed office :
11th May 2016
Type :
Assembly Constituencies :
Parlimentary Constituencies :
Ruling Party :
Samajwadi Party
Opposition Party :
Leader of the House :
Harish Rawat, INC
Governor :
Krishan Kant Paul
Chief Electoral Officer :
Radha Raturi

Uttarakhand Election 2017 Dates/Schedule

According to the sources Election Commission has said that Elections in Uttarakhand most likely held between February and March next year, shortly after presentation of the Union Budget on February one 2017. The EC added that polling will be held in single phase in Uttarakhand.
Issue of Notification announced soon..
Last date for making Nominationsannounced soon..
Scrutiny of Nominationsannounced soon..
Last date for withdrawal of candidatureannounced soon..
Date of Pollannounced soon..
Date of Countingannounced soon..
Date before which election process shall be completedannounced soon..

Elections in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand is also a state in northern India. There are more than 10.08 million populations (2012). This is a state in India crossed by Himalayas and available many hindu pilgrimage sites.There are 70 Assembly Consitituencies and 5 Lok Sabha Consitituencies. First Assembly elections have done in 2002 where Congress had won 36 seats.

In last Assembly elections (2012), 3 Major parties (INC, BSP & BJP) has been participated. Out of that, INC (Congress) has got majority with winning of 32 Seats. Runner Up (BJP) has got 31 Seats. BSP & Independents has got 3 and 3 Seats respectively. INC created their government with merging of BSP and independents. After that, Mr. Vijay Bahuguna won bye-election from their sitarganj seat vacated due to resignation of BJP MLA. That gives 1 more seat benefits to congres and BJP settled down on 30.

Next upcoming Assembly elections for Uttarakhand will be held in 2017. Dates would be announce by Election Commission in November 2016 and elections will be held around Jan or Feb of 2017.The Current CM for Uttarakhand is Mr. Harish Rawat. The important main factor that will help BJP to fight against INC will be corruption issues raised on Mr. Harish Rawat. Uttarakhand already faced the President rule for 1 month few days before.